ICT and Computing


ICT and Computing

IT essentials

BTEC level 3 single

Course Description

This course is the first year of a 2 year study programme which encompasses two examined units on the
Fundamentals of IT and Global Information.

Further transferable skills include communication, problem solving, time management, research and analytical skills. This qualification focuses on the requirements that will enable you to progress onto the second year of the course with the aim to progress either on to university or the employment sector.

The course is made up of five units, two in the first year:

  • Fundamentals of IT
  • Global Information

And three in the second year:

  • Cyber Security
  • Product Development
  • Systems Analysis and Design.

Using a combination of live “project briefs” and external assessment the course consists of eight units in the first year: 

  • Fundamentals of IT 
  • Global Information 
  • Application Design 
  • Mobile Technology 
  • Social Media and Digital Technology 
  • Games Design and Prototyping 
  • Internet of Everything 
  • Big Data Analytics. 

With a further nine units in the second year: 

  • Cyber Security 
  • Data Analysis and Design 
  • Enterprise and Computing 
  • Cloud Technology 
  • Project Management 
  • Product Development 
  • Systems Analysis and Design 
  • Web Design and Prototyping 
  • Cognitive Computing 
Two years
  • Programming skills and practice
  • Problem-solving
  • Identification of appropriate hardware and software
  • Implementation of effective solutions
  • Ability to organise and present information clearly and logically

This is a single subject and you would select two other subjects, such as BTEC L3 Business (single) or BTEC L3 eSports (single).

All students will be able to access enrichment, such as games design and development, within their timetabled sessions. 

A high percentage of our students progress on to university to study or gain employment within the computer industry. 

  • Five GCSEs at Grades 4 – 9
  • English and Mathematics GCSE Grade 4 or above

8 units, 3 are mandatory, 2 are externally assessed.  

Mandatory content (37.5%). External assessment (25%).

Scroll to top